New Endowed Chair to honour the achievements of Dr.Heather Arthur

  • July 18, 2017
  • News

On July 7, Paul O’Byrne, dean and vice president of the Faculty of Health Sciences, Michael G DeGroote School of Medicine at McMaster University announced the establishment of a new endowed chair, “to honor one of the School’s most exceptional researchers and educators, Dr. Heather M. Arthur.”

Dr. Heather Arthur

The Heather M. Arthur Population Health Research Institute / Hamilton Health Sciences Chair in Inter-Professional Health Research was created with support from the Faculty of Health Sciences, Hamilton Health Sciences (HHS) and the Population Health Research Institute (PHRI). The Chair is in recognition of Dr. Arthur’s pioneering work as a nurse-scientist and her internationally-renowned accomplishments in the field of inter-professional health research.

An alumna of McMaster’s School of Nursing, Dr. Arthur began her career in the School in 1981 as a Lecturer, eventually rising to the rank of tenured Professor. Over her long and distinguished career, she has held the Heart and Stroke Foundation / Michael G. DeGroote Chair in Cardiovascular Nursing, was the Chief Scientific Officer at HHS and was the first female and first nurse to win the Terry Kavanagh Prize from the Canadian Association of Cardiac Rehabilitation (CACR). One of the top Canadian scientists in the areas of cardiac rehabilitation and cardiovascular disease, Dr. Arthur is also a passionate advocate for the advancement of nurses and women in academia, and has acted as a mentor to numerous professionals and learners.

The Chair is pending final approval from the University’s Senate and Board of Governors.